SRHE - Society for Research into Higher Education           Society for Research into Higher Education
     Annual Research Conference 2010, 14 - 16 December 2010
     Postgraduate and Newer Researchers Conference, 13 - 14 December
  Conference Home Call for Papers Registration Venue Programme
  SRHE Home Page Submit Proposal Sponsor/Exhibit Accommodation Speakers
    Types of Proposals   Joining Instructions View Papers
          View Programme
  Conference Information Download Papers
  Conference Theme View Programme
  Register Joining Instructions
SRHE - Society for Research into Higher Education   Contact organiser
  Home  /  Newer Researchers Programme At A Glance

Programme At A Glance

bullet Day One - Monday 13th December 2010  
bullet Day Two - Tuesday 14th December 2010  
bullet Download Newer Researchers Programme PDF Download
bullet Download Newer Researchers Timetable PDF Download

Monday 13th December 2010
09.30 – 10.00 Briefing for Session Chairs Beaumaris Suite
09.30 – 10.15 Registration Beaumaris Foyer
10.15 – 11.30 Conference Welcome
Helen Perkins, SRHE Director
Saranne Weller, Conference Co-Chair
Beaumaris Suite
11.30 – 12.30 Keynote address: Professor Bruce Macfarlane

The changing seascape of higher education research: forerunners, pathfinders and pathtakers

Chair: Patrick Baughan, Conference Co-Chair
Beaumaris Suite
11.15 – 11.45 Keynote Discussion and Questions Beaumaris Suite
12.00 – 13.15 Paper Session 1 Breakout Rooms
13.15 – 14.15 Lunch Beaumaris Lounge
14.15 – 15.30 Paper Session 2 Breakout Rooms
15.30 – 16.00 Career Development Chats Breakout Rooms
16.30 – 16.45 Tea/Coffee Break Beaumaris Lounge
16.45 – 18.00 Paper Sessions 3 Breakout Rooms
18.00 – 18.30 Drinks Reception and Prize Draw Beaumaris Lounge
19.00 – 22.00 Conference Supper (optional) Merlin’s Bar
Tuesday 14th December 2010
08.45 – 09.30 Career Development Workshop 1:

Getting Research Funding

Session Chair: Professor Lynn McAlpine
Contributor: Professor Rosemary Deem
Contributor: Professor Yvonne Hillier
Beaumaris Suite
10.00 – 11.00 Career Development Workshop 2:

Getting Research Published

Session Chair: Professor  Sue Clegg
Contributor: Professor Ian McNay
Contributor: Professor Lynn McAlpine
Contributor: Mr Ian White
Beaumaris Suite
11.15 – 11.30 SRHE Annual Research Conference

Conference Welcome
Helen Perkins, SRHE Director
Dr Jill Jameson, Conference Chair
Caernarfon Suite
11.30 – 12.30 Keynote Address: Dr Amanda Goodall

Why managers should not replace Socrates in the boardroom

Chair: Professor Yvonne Hillier, Chair, SRHE
Caernarfon Suite
12.45 – 13.15 Keynote Address Discussion Groups Breakout Rooms
13.15 – 14.15 Lunch Caernarfon Foyer
14.15 – 14.45 Closing Session for the Newer Researchers’ Conference
Patrick Baughan & Saranne Weller
Conference Co-Chairs
Beaumaris Lounge
15.00 Delegates Depart

Go to top  Top

  Keynote Speakers

Professor Gráinne Conole
Professor Gráinne Conole
Professor of Learning Innovation University of Leicester
Trajectories of learning: navigating the future of learning with new technologies
PDF Download Read more

Dr Paul Ashwin
Dr Paul Ashwin
Senior Lecturer ,Centre for the Study of Education and Training, Lancaster University
Conceptualising and researching the new communities, spaces, places and futures of contemporary higher education
PDF Download Read more
SRHE - Registered charity No. 313850. Company No. 868820 Limited by Guarantee. Registered office 44 Bedford Row, London WC1R 4LL.